Casey Plett, Kaie Kellough and Waubgeshig Rice among the 5 writers on the jury for the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize


The Scotiabank Giller Prize has announced the jury for the 2022 prize. The annual $100,000 literary prize is the largest in Canadian fiction.

Canadian author Casey Plett will chair the five-person panel. She is accompanied by Canadian authors Kaie Kellough and Waubgeshig Rice and American writers Katie Kitamura and Scott Spencer.

Plett was born in Manitoba and has lived in Ontario, Oregon and New York. His novel Little fish won the Amazon Canada First Novel Award and the Lambda Literary Award for Best Transgender Fiction. His collection of short stories, A sure girl to love, also won a Lambda Literary Award. Plett received an Honor of Distinction from the Writers’ Trust of Canada’s Dayne Ogilvie Award for Emerging LGBTQ Writers. His most recent book is the collection of short stories A woman’s dreamwhat was shortlisted for the 2021 Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Kellough is a Montreal-based poet, fiction writer and sound performer. His novels include Dominoes at the Crossroads, which is on the 2022 Canada Reads longlist and was also on the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist; and Accordionwho was a finalist for the Amazon Canada First Novel Award in 2017. He is also the author of the poetry collection magnetic equator, which won the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize.

Waubgeshig Rice is an author, journalist and former CBC radio host from Wasauksing First Nation. Rice’s first collection of short stories Midnight sweat lodge, which was about her life growing up in her Anishinaabe community, won an Independent Publishers Book Award in 2012. Her debut novel, Heritagewas published in 2014, with a French translation published in 2017. His discussion book, Crusted Snow Moonis a dystopian novel about a northern Anishinaabe community that must revert to traditional practices to survive the collapse of their power grid during the winter.

Katie Kitamura is an American novelist, journalist and art critic. Kitamura’s most recent novel, Intimacies, was named by The New York Times as one of the 10 Best Books of 2021. The novel was also recommended reading by Barack Obama and was shortlisted for the National Book Award and the Joyce Carol Oates Prize. Her third novel, A separationwas a finalist for the Premio von Rezzori and a New York Times Notable Book.

Spencer is an American writer who lives in New York. He is the author of 12 novels, including Everlasting love, wake the dead, A paper shipand man in the woods. He has been nominated three times for the National Book Award and has taught at Columbia University, Williams College and the University of Virginia.

Submissions for the award are currently open. Books in English written by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident published between October 1, 2022 and February 22, 2022 are eligible.

The long list will be announced in September in St. John’s, and the short list will follow later in the fall in Toronto. The winner will be announced in November.

Last year’s winner was Omar El Akkad for his novel What a strange paradise. What a strange paradise is on the Canada reads long list 2022.

Other past winners include Souvankham Thammavongsa for How to pronounce knife, Esi Edugyan for novels Washington Black and Half-Blood Blues, Michael Redhill for Place Bellevue, Margaret Atwood for Alias ​​Grace, Mordecai Richler for Barney’s Version, Alice Munro for Run away, Andre Alexis for Fifteen dogs and Madeleine Thien for Don’t say we have nothing.

For the second time, Scotiabank Giller Prize presents book club highlighting titles from the 2021 longlist. A series of events are planned, each featuring a different author, from January through June.

Omar El Akkad receives the 2021 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Omar El Akkad won the Scotiabank Giller Prize, a $100,000 prize, for his novel What Strange Paradise on November 8, 2021. 1:56


About Author

Comments are closed.